Getting school children excited about computing – #gototech day

Check out the fabulous video made by Mark Cotton of our #gototech day run in partnership with Intellect UK. AppsforGood, RS Components, Raspberry Pi and Miles Berry from Roehampton Institute joined us at St Matthew’s School for the day, our aim: to show that computer science can be fun and that kids as young as 7 can get excited about programming, app development and playing around with hardware. 

Watch the video and tell us what you think. Should we be teaching this way in schools now? The children and teachers at St Matthew’s definitely think so.

Should we be teaching computing at primary school? I think we should teach computing concepts from age 5, but most people disagree with me. What do you think?

 

5 comments

  1. I completely agree! I was lucky enough to have a BBC at a very young age; access to a computer shaped my childhood and helped me develop my own skills outside of the classroom. Being female, I realise I’m lucky to have had the chance to get into IT – many girls wouldn’t have been given that opportunity.

  2. Absolutely, children can and should learn simple computing concepts from an early age.It frustrates me endlessly that it’s still OK for adults to have the attitude of "I don’t understand any of that technology nonsense". And it is a big problem, because those adults are parents and policy makers.Not everyone needs to be enthusiastic about technology, just like not everyone has to be enthusiastic about maths or literature. But nobody disputes that literacy and numeracy are important basic skills to grasp – we need to get computing on the same footing.

  3. Thanks very much Claire and Techiebird for your comments. I completely agree with you, now what do we do to make change happen?

  4. I think children are interested – you only have to see a toddler using a touchscreen to see the potential. The problem is getting adults to understand just how important it is kids to know the basics, and also to realise how much their life will revolve around technology. Techiebird, you’re definitely right.As for how to achieve it – I don’t know. I recently saw a ‘study’ (inverted commas intentional) that suggested, in a roundabout way, that girls aren’t ambitious when it comes to STEM. I think it’s more a case that kids don’t get the opportunity to build up any confidence, apart from using whatever device they use to text their mates.

  5. Yes, there are definite issues there re girls, but also agree there are definitely not enough opportunities at all. Good that lots of people/organisations are starting to be interested in this, change will happen. I’m impatient though, I want it to happen NOW ;))

Leave a Reply

