Communities 2.0, Wales, Digital Inclusion

I had a truly awesome day yesterday keynoting the Communities 2.0 conference at the Cardiff Swalec stadium. I gave my talk “If I can do it, so can you” which is all about how technology and education have changed my life, helping me to bring my family out of poverty and into prosperity. I had so much fabulous feedback and met some really lovely people. The digital inclusion people in Wales are an absolutely wonderful bunch.

IMG_7002
Communities 2.0 are just having their funding cut at a time when getting people online and tech savvy is becoming critical to lead an everyday life. It’s such a shame that all the good digital inclusion work, which has put Wales in a leading position in Europe, is now being scaled down.

IMG_6987
Being in Cardiff was also a great opportunity to meet up with my fab new friend Aimee Bateman. We met when we both gave a talk at TedxClapham recently. I expect really great things from Aimee, what a superstar πŸ˜ƒ

IMG_6979
I don’t think I’ve ever had so many lovely tweets from one event. Incedible support. Thank you Communities 2.0 and everyone at the #c2conf for all your interest and questions.

IMG_7010

4 comments

  1. Reblogged this on Transformation and commented:
    I was so lucky to get a place at Silicon Republic last year to hear the amazing Sue Black. Also met the incredible Liz Waters from An Cosan. They have now set up #techmums with a great team in Tallaght.

Leave a Reply

