Osteo arthritis – can I stop it from getting worse? 

I’ve had stiffness in my fingers, hands and feet for some time now, and my right index finger has a swollen joint. My doctor diagnosed osteo arthritis and said there’s nothing I can do to stop it, it is caused by “over-use”. Looking at my fingers I can see that my right index finger is the worst and my right middle finger looks like it is starting to swell.

My left hand

 

My right hand

 

I find this very depressing. I’m 52, healthy, if slightly overweight, is there really nothing I can do? 

I don’t like the way it looks but much worse than that is the thought that I will gradually lose the use of my hands for typing, knitting and everything else. 

I’m interested in anything that might stop or at least slow down what appears to be a slow degenerative process. Does diet have an effect? I would love to hear from anyone who has an opinion or any ideas on anything I can do about this. Please tell me your experience and stories. Thanks 😃

5 comments

  1. Sue sorry to hear you have so much discomfort. I have bad days when I feel like I am 80. Research the following link http://bit.ly/1DP5jZK. Alternative practitioners take a different approach to medical doctors. Ensure you source a good one and not a quack if you go down the alternative route.

  2. I am so sorry, but I can offer some solid advice. Eliminate red meat, pork, nitrates, nitrites, all chemical additives in food, as all exacerbate the inflammation. You have to become a devoted reader of the ingredients in packaged food. Fresh fruit and vegetables are your new best friends. After you’ve adhered strictly for a few weeks, you should see improvement. That’s when you can start trying restaurant food. You’ll learn very quickly what causes pain ans what does not.

    I had a friend whose arthritis was so severe she couldn’t wear clothes with buttons. After several months of strict adherence, she was back to playing the flute, which she had also given up.

  3. So sorry. I have the same problem with my fingers. I try to stay away from processed foods and increased foods that have natural anti-inflammatory properties (berries, ginger, turmeric, etc.). I was fitted for an Oval 8 finger splint which is a minimalist splint that supports the bad joint but let’s you use you fingers. Sometimes I rub some Tiger Balm on the joints. Good luck. Some days are harder than others but don’t give in!

Leave a Reply

