Middle Age Angst, a self imposed writing class or New Year’s Resolution? You Decide #300words

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but I seem to have made one this year. I’m going to write something every day, a blogpost a day even, just for the hell of it. And also to improve my writing. But what if I write drivel every day and my writing doesn’t improve? Well then I will laugh at myself and say that it was just an experiment, I wasn’t really trying or other such bullshit. I don’t want to look like a complete idiot.

I’m going to post a photo every day to complement my blog post, and I’m going to (really? this sounds a bit scary) talk about my innermost thoughts rather than the day to day stuff. I have no idea yet what that might be.

I’ve had an “interesting” life so far. The “hard” (it’s all relative) life of my early teens through my twenties has morphed into an “easy” (it’s all…) life now. I no longer go to sleep hungry nearly every night or worry about being murdered. I’m having a ball!

I’m going to pose a question every day too. (Can you tell I’m making this up as I go along?) Today’s question is:

“Why has our oldest cat Elsie suddenly started pissing up the dining room curtains every day?”

It doesn’t make sense.

I’m also going to restrict the word count to three hundred words per day. Setting boundaries on your work forces you to think harder about what you are doing. I read that somewhere once. 300 words also gives me a #hashtag 🙂 and I do love a good #hashtag. I wonder if that smiley face counts as a word?

Well that was easy, today’s post is finished, see you tomorrow… does “…” count as a word?

I don’t know.

End.

#300words

2 comments

  1. I’ll be interested to see what you come up with..I think a smiley and … count as words if you use them in place of ones – but do you count . At all?

Leave a Reply

